Post Office Department.—Operations of the Post Office Department under a Post-master General include: air, land, steamboat and railway mail services; international and domestic mail; postage stamps, money orders and parcel post business. The Post Office also is responsible for the Post Office Savings Bank.

For statistics see Chapter XIX.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in 1886 and is in charge of the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to and the audit of all accounts for advertising of Parliament and Departments of the Canadian Government; the free distribution and sale of all public documents or papers to the public; the publication of the Statutes of Canada, the Canada Gazette, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council.

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered by the Secretary of State. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed upon official records of the Government, and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, an historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and is responsible for the management, charge and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging. The Department maintains architectural and engineering staffs in each province in addition to the Administrative, Architectural, Engineering and Purchasing and Stores Branches at Ottawa.

Department of Resources and Development.—The Department of Resources and Development was established in January 1950, and comprises sections of the former Departments of Mines and Resources and Reconstruction and Supply. The Department is divided into five branches besides Administration Services: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks of Canada, historic sites and federal interests in the conservation and protection of wildlife (see also Chapter I, pp. 23–36) and has charge of the National Museum of Canada (see Chapter VIII); the Engineering and Water Resources Branch has charge of federal interests in the trans-Canada highway, construction works for all other branches, the measure and record of stream flow, and the investigation of water-power resources; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch deals with business from the local government of the Northwest Territories and of Yukon Territory and administers lands, timber, minerals and other resources of the Territories; the Forestry Branch conducts investigations in the protection and utilization of the forest resources of Canada, maintains forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administers federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act (see also Chapter XI); the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel from abroad and interprovincial travel in Canada.

The Minister of Resources and Development is also responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation (see Chapter XVII), the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northwest Territories Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Department of the Secretary of State was constituted in its present form in 1873. The Secretary of State is the official spokesman of the Federal Government as well as the medium of communication between the Federal and Provincial Governments, all correspondence between the Governments being concucted through this Department with the Lieutenant-Governors. He is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and the Privy Seal of the Governor General as well as being the channel through which the general public may approach the Crown.

The Secretary of State is the Registrar General of Canada, registering all proclamations, commissions, licences, warrants, writs and other instruments issued under the Great Seal and certain instruments issued under the Privy Seal. He is responsible for the collection and tabling of parliamentary returns.

The Acts administered wholly or in part by this Department will be found at p. 91. The Secretary of State also deals with the organization and administration of the Office of the Custodian of Enemy Property. The Civil Service Commission (see p. 82), the Depart-